Atomos enable 12-bit Apple ProRes RAW over HDMI on the Z CAM E2 Camera

ATOMOS is happy to announce alongside Z CAM the development of ProRes RAW recording over HDMI from the E2 cinema camera to the Ninja V 5” HDR monitor-recorder. The Ninja V will record 12-bit Apple ProRes RAW at up to 4Kp60. This will give Z CAM users the best possible image quality from the camera. For reliability and affordability, files are recorded to AtomX SSD mini SATA drives in the Ninja V. The E2 and Ninja V will gain the ability to record Apple ProRes RAW at up to 4Kp60 via a free AtomOS update from Atomos expected in June, 2020. Additional frame rates will be added in the future.

To celebrate the announcement Atomos and Z CAM are giving away an E2 camera body and a Ninja V in our NAB Express free prize draw. To enter simply head over to Atomos Academy today and fill out the entry form. The winner will be drawn at 1AM BST, 2AM CET/ 9AM JST/ 10AM AEST/ 5PM PST/ 8PM EST and will be contacted via email. Full Terms and conditions are stated on the entry form.

Atomos and Z CAM are also announcing the development of touch-screen camera control on the Ninja V for E2 cameras. Users will be able to operate their cameras and adjust key settings from the monitor’s touch screen. Atomos’ state of the art, high brightness HDR screen technology on the Ninja V becomes the ultimate monitoring and recording solution for the E2 series.

At the heart of the Z CAM E2 is a dual native ISO 4/3” MFT sensor. It produces 4K images with excellent color science and low light sensitivity. As a result a number of top commercials, documentaries, TV series and feature films around the world have already been shot using the camera. There are also an increasing number of creative and innovative applications, such as volumetric and underwater capture, that leverage the unique capabilities and small form factor of E2.

ProRes RAW combines the visual and workflow benefits of RAW video with the incredible real-time performance of ProRes. The format gives filmmakers enormous latitude when adjusting the look of their images and extending brightness and shadow detail, making ProRes RAW ideal for HDR workflows. All image data is preserved in either ProRes RAW HQ or ProRes RAW formats. And the manageable file sizes speed up and simplify file transfer, media management, and archiving. ProRes RAW is fully supported in Final Cut Pro X along with a collection of other apps including ASSIMILATE SCRATCH, Colorfront, FilmLight Baselight, and Grass Valley Edius. Adobe and Avid have announced that Premiere Pro and Media Composer will support ProRes RAW this year.

Z CAM is the third major company to announce support for RAW over HDMI, joining the Z6 and Z7 from Nikon and the Panasonic S1H. This is in addition to several Sony, Canon and Panasonic cinema cameras that already support ProRes RAW recording via SDI to Atomos monitor-recorders. As a result, ProRes RAW is now firmly established as the new standard for RAW video capture, with many more cameras due this year.

Atomos NAB Express Prize Draw
on now at Atomos Acdaemy

In light of NABShow Express happening today and tomorrow we have extended for two days our ‘ATOMOS, ATOMOS, ATOMOS’ prize draw. Today’s prize draw is the Z CAM E2 alongside a Ninja V.